Rejuvenation

Immediately on the edge of town is a wetland development. The leaves are another type of gum that is one of Australia's 700 eucalypt species.

In the house and outer environment I am winning the blitz to defeat the flea population. The house looks a bit bare and to the eye of someone who has no idea what has gone on here 'untidy' with cardboard cartons with items in them all over the place - and a mountain of washing to be sorted and folded, clothes drying and airing over doors because of the incessant overcast and drizzling weather. My friend came over after work in the middle of the afternoon and enjoyed with much appreciative noise some fish chowder that yes, was delicious I made yesterday. At last I felt confident to offer refreshments. We sat on my verandah and I spread a white sheet out over two plastic chairs to be sure we were not harbouring any wing-ed or other sort insects.

The plan was we would spend a little time walking around the wetland and later, I enjoyed the privilege of being invited to visit friends of hers with her. She had been earlier invited to visit there to eat scones. The people are very hospitable people by personality. I was welcomed. As we left each of us was given a freshly made chicken and leek pie. Only later did I reflect it is two and half years since I have been a guest in a formal and conventional sense in a home in Bordertown. With a roaring log fire no less. Offered repast and handed a cup of steaming hot tea. Very lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.