Cairistiona

By Cairistiona1

Salt.

Nobody's got enough...except when it comes to cooking...then we're told not to use it because it is bad for us.

Decided to try and find out what some things look like from the inside and the lens I got for my birthday is just the business. Last nights blip just trumped a view up inside the chimney (I found a piece of rope!) and this is today's find; it's the view inside a salt pig.

These were quite common when I was a kid. Without fridges and freezers, salting was one of the main methods used to preserve food. So, in a busy kitchen, it was helpful to be able to stick your hand in to get some salt to throw into whichever pot needed it.

I guess I don't use it very much at all these days, but it is still handy to have a small supply.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.