Bits and Bobs!

By Kate64

Eilmer the Flying Monk!

OR

Bus Challenge No 17!

Today I took on my longest Bus Challenge yet, taking a total of seven buses! Bus No 1 into Bath, Bus No 2 to Chippenham and then Bus No 3 to Medieval Malmesbury in the Cotswolds.

As well as being known for the world famous Naked Gardeners, Malmesbury is also home to a beautiful 12th century Abbey Church. Malmesbury Abbey was founded as a Benedictine monastery around 676 by the scholar-poet Aldhelm, a nephew of King Ine of Wessex. In 941 AD, King Athelstan was buried in the Abbey and by the 11th century it contained the second largest library in Europe and was considered one of the leading European seats of learning.

"The Abbey was the site of an early attempt at human flight when, during the early 11th century, the monk Eilmer of Malmesbury attached wings to his body and flew from a tower. Eilmer flew over 200 yards (200 m) before landing, breaking both legs. He later remarked that the only reason he did not fly further was the lack of a tail on his glider." Wikipedia

Whilst sitting on Bus No 6 from Bath to home, I was only thinking to myself how smoothly both journeys had gone (arriving in Chippenham on Bus No 4, Bus No 5 was waiting, and when I arrived in Bath Bus No 6 was also waiting for me) when.... Bus No 6 broke down!!!! So it was everyone off the bus! Luckily I knew there was another bus (Bus No 7!) only 10mins behind that I could catch, so it wasn't a complete disaster. But that will teach me to count my chickens before they're hatched! Nevertheless, a lovely day all round!!


Total bus journey times = 4 hour 25 mins
Total waiting times in between buses = 50 mins
Total journey time = 5 hour 15 mins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.