Set Fire To the Third Bar

And there he was .......!

I'd been in studio all morning and decided it was time to take time-out for a coffee and The Times.

On my return I pulled down a narrow road where I spotted some light sparkling through the trees. I was avidly framing some images of backlit grass when I had that strange feeling of being watched!

When I turned round there he was some 20 yards away looking directly at me before taking off into the scrub .....silently ... on his journey.

It immediately brought the lyrics and the voce of Martha Wainright to mind ......


I find the map and draw a straight line
Over rivers, farms, and state lines
The distance from 'A' to where you'd be
It's only finger-lengths that I see
I touch the place where I'd find your face
My finger in creases of distant dark places

I hang my coat up in the first bar
There is no peace that I've found so far
The laughter penetrates my silence
As drunken men find flaws in science

Their words mostly noises
Ghosts with just voices
Your words in my memory
Are like music to me

I'm miles from where you are,
I lay down on the cold ground
I, I pray that something picks me up
And sets me down in your warm arm


Set the Fire To The Third Bar - Snow Patrol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.