Emeline

By Emeline

Mono Monday - Three Orchids

I could tell you about my day..... (which was pretty awesome :) ) .... but instead I wanted to tell you about life, new beginnings, rebirths and second chances.....

This Orchid was given to me exactly a year ago..... I was checking out from a Dubai hospital where I went through a very scary surgery..... a surgery meant to remove some nasty cancerous cells which had given me nightmares for weeks, made me reconsider what really matters and made me look at life from a very different angle..... Luckily, that day marked the end of all the worry and all the fear..... it marked the beginning of a new chapter....

Since that day...... my life has changed..... so very much..... A new place, a new car, a new outlook on life and love.... I have been taking care of myself and my peace of mind, I have been taking care of the people I love, I set myself new challenges and my priorities shifted drastically...... A year later...... I have never been so happy, so content, so much in peace with myself..... :)

This Orchid was here with me everyday since that day...... it was beautiful for months..... and then it all died...nothing for weeks and weeks...... and just when I thought it was over..... It all came back to life..... first 1 flower..... then 2..... and very recently a 3rd flower came out..... gloriously smiling at me...... it's as if they keep reminding me that rebirths and new beginnings are always possible..... that even though you go through periods of darkness, you should never stop believing that something fabulous is on its way!

" Who gets to determine when the old ends and the new begins? It's not on the calendar, It's not a birthday, It's not a new year. It's an event, big or small, something that changes us. Ideally, that gives us hope, a new way of living and looking at the world, a way of letting go of old habits, old memories. What's important is that we never stop believing we can have a new beginning, but it's also important to remember that, amid all the bad, there are a few things worth holding onto"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.