Hamey

By Hamey

Narrow Lanes

Today on my return from my walk I was talking with a friend on horseback (who was berating me for walking without a dog - trying to rectify this!) when we heard a large vehicle coming. She went off to the top of the track which leads down to the fields and the dustcart driver kindly crept past. I reverted to the bank when he stopped and asked me to adjust his nearside mirror which I happily did.

He then moved off to be confronted by White van man......now white van man could have pulled over onto his offside into a field entrance to let this one past but no he decided to partially pull off on the nearside! No room obviously...so he had then to back about 200 yds downhill being followed by the dustcart.

I was pleased that the dustcart was past me as there would have been nowhere for me to go!!

This often happens and it never fails to amaze me at the number of drivers who seem to be totally incapable of driving backwards and just sit and wait when there is a space a few yards behind them. Are people no longer taught how to reverse? Good think that white van man could drive backwards........!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.