Cloudy, with a Chance of...

...Daisies.

And getting VERY wet...

Thanks for all the comments on my Mono Monday Challenge, yesterday. The headache turned to migraine that got so bad that I had to go to bed. Whilst quite satisfied with what I had done and from the remit and original subject, I am afraid to say that I now find it dour and depressing. Some saw a 'face' in the lower window, which I had not. That turned my mind to a prisoner, a locked-up psychiatric patient, perhaps. I'm happy to leave it up and to have tried the Challenge but I won't be replying to individual comments, I'm afraid. I will endeavour to look at and comments on other's entries to the Challenge though, soon!

I only really want comments now on today's please - it does go to show that whilst the vast majority would far prefer a shopping trip - it was B&Q that made me feel unwell - as you will read below, like a pig in mud, I am never happier in conditions that most would desist intensely!


From about 10 a.m. to 4 this afternoon, I have been storm-watching, cloud-watching and a teeny spot of sunshine watching, all on a ten mile leisurely stroll around the lush hilly farmland five miles south and east of Salisbury.

Huge views, as the downland spread toward Salisbury, the Cathedral forever keeping watch and brief glimpses of Longford Castle, which is privately owned and not open to the public - so you can ONLY get distant glimpses!

Even when heavily overcast, no two clouds were the same, always dramatic, the almost breeze-less air made their progress slow. Then at 11, I got an absolute soaking, Salisbury got it a good 20 minutes beforehand. The sun then eked through, for 15 minutes, then clouded over again.

Half an hour of good warm sun and then this huge bank that you see here marched in. I have NOT darkened the sky nor used grad grey filters, as I no longer have any. A polariser was used though and I added some vignetting after to pull the corners in.

Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm. Look in LARGE , to see the distant shower pouring down.

After this, as you can guess, and not wanting another soaking, I walked as quickly as I could the couple of miles back to the bus stop. I had no idea when the bus was due and being hourly, I could have had one long wait. Before I had the chance to check the timetable, I saw it turn off the A36 Southampton road - and just as I took my place upstairs, yes, the heavens opened.

A smartly and cleanly dressed elderly couple that had been on the same bus as me going out in the morning were sitting adjacent. No doubt a free bus-pass shopping spree in Southampton. They still had spotless shoes and clothes, with ironed creases in the right places. Me, meanwhile, had mud all the way up to my knees, like a schoolboy - shorts worn, of course, and trainers caked in mud and soaked through that made them squelch. But I didn't care - and nor did they...

Will be back to Blip, a bit later - nettle stings to attend to and a bath!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.