Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Hacked off

My email account was hacked today from someone in Nigeria, resulting in every single person in my contacts list being sent an email plea for help in my name, saying I was stuck in Istanbul. I've had this email address for 12 years and it's my only address and so I can't begin to imagine how many emails were sent out! I was blissfully unaware of this until I got a text from Bb mid-morning, saying he was dealing with it. And then I got texts throughout the day from friends telling me I'd been hacked and just checking I wasn't in fact stuck in Istanbul with no money! Apparently, the cashier in the school where I worked in Budapest from 2006 to 2009 was even keen to send cash and help me. Bless! All cash gratefully received by the way! Joking aside though, it's a major hassle. Bb's last access to the account this morning showed that all my contacts had been deleted and not all my mail boxes were complete. I've got lots of emails with attachments in there, just cos it's handy for when I'm on the move. All the emails from my late dad are there too. External devices aren't allowed in the school here and so I email any documents I work on at home here and print them off from at school; can't do that now. I do have Dropbox, so need to rely solely on that for the moment. If we can't retrieve it all tomorrow, then I'll just need to open a new account. Not good :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.