ElectricFish

By ElectricFish

Not Waving but Drowning

Enjoyed the new potatoes today. They were as delicious and as memory inspiring as I could have hoped for... Started the meal a man and finished through my five year old eyes in a steep, haystack strewn field searching for hours for a promised (but non existent) pony.

The day started well with an invite to photograph a pair of woodpeckers and their chick in the garden of friends of a friend. Got some nice shots.

My friend's humour seemed to dip suddenly and I was helpless to save her...or useless... either could apply. I was reminded of the following...

Not Waving but Drowning
By Stevie Smith
Nobody heard him, the dead man,
But still he lay moaning:
I was much further out than you thought
And not waving but drowning.

Poor chap, he always loved larking
And now he’s dead
It must have been too cold for him his heart gave way,
They said.

Oh, no no no, it was too cold always
(Still the dead one lay moaning)
I was much too far out all my life
And not waving but drowning.


I haven't given up on her though....Not at all.... I failed today...but tomorrow is a brand new day....just saying

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.