MummaHen

By MummaHen

Costa Rican parrot

This Quetzal was happy to pose for me. Can be hard to find but I got several photos from different angles. They are usually in pairs and mate for life. This was taken in the Monteverdi cloud forest. I also got lots of hummingbird photos taken by a honey feeding station. A few hummingbirds were circling a sleeping green tree snake high in the tree to warn other hummingbird to keep clear. The photo taken with an iPhoto thru the telescope clearly showed the snakes scales. How the guides spotted it was beyond me. Saw a tarantula in his hole. Also some good pics of a slate throated redstart. Spotted its chicks peeking out of the nest but they were too close for my tele lens ! Saw several nasty hairy toxic caterpillars. They are almost the size of my little finger and we spotted 3 different colour combinations one with a bright yellow area, another with orangy red spots and a third more browny coloured. All had long white hairs or bristles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.