Varnishing the Steps

I am being allowed to write in the journal today as Mummy has been very busy and I was very frightened this afternoon.

I did not come in immediately I was called this morning when the steelworkers arrived although Florence as a goody-two-shoes and came in straight away. I did eventually come in because I had not had my proper breakfast, although I had caught and eaten some fresh rabbit.

This afternoon I was very frightened, we were shut in the house, but we have access to the bathroom which is where our litter tray is. There was this terrible noise and it seemed like it was someone in our bathroom, coming up through the toilet; Florence was scared as well, but not as much as me. I yowled very loudly and Mummy came and gave us a cuddle and explained that the noise would go away soon. It seems that the septic tank was being emptied, although I am not sure what that is. I hid in the corner of the lounge for ages, even when the noise stopped, before going back to sleep on Mummy’s armchair.

Today’s picture is of Daddy varnishing some steps, which our proper builder has made as a temporary measure so that we can all get out of the back door more easily, me and Florence can jump up and down to get in and out, but Mummy and Daddy have to use a step ladder. It seems that we are not going to be allowed out tonight at all, as we must not walk on these steps until they are dry.

Florence sends her love to Kitty Boy and we say ‘Hi’ to all our other animal friends.

Love from Dougal

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.