juliebee

By juliebee

Freezing Fog - A Sorry Tale

Sigh. I wanted to bring you another photo but something went horribly wrong. D'you want the long story or the edited highlights? I'll aim for something in between.

The River Clyde is looking amazing - big chunks iced over and the 'basin' behind the Imax (where the seaplane docks) is pretty much frozen in very interesting layers. Naturally, I couldn't stay in the office whilst this was all tempting me outside so my camera and I braved the elements to take some photos. One of us fared better than the other.

The camera (Nikon D90) was a bit temperamental, which was fair enough cos I think it was about -10, so I had to remove and refit the memory card and the battery a couple of times. Had to give up after about 20 minutes and go back indoors. By then the camera was saying the card wasn't formatted but I thought it was telling porkies. Unfortunately two card readers have failed to find any files.

I've tried using RescuePro but no joy. Am now trying CardRecovery but amn't holding out much hope. If anyone has any advice for me, it'd be very welcome. I'm using a Sandisk Extreme III 30MB/s 8GB SDHC card. It's no longer my friend.

And so back to today's blip. It's the BBC in freezing fog. Regardez the snow, the frost, the big glass ice box! It was taken with my phone just after the camera gave up.

Goodnight, blippers. I'm off to pray to the god of flash storage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.