bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

Look what I caught ........

.......said the Sea Eagle and I !!!!!

Was off the main ferry today and on a smaller dinghy type boat to go through the inlets of the Lofeten Islands, which are incredibly beautiful and tranquil. The crew of the main ferry said we had a good chance of seeing seals and porpoise close up on the rocks, but also to look out for sea eagles. Not being an ornithologist I asked would I easily recognise it amongst all the other many sea birds and gulls that follow the bigger ferry. The crew member laughed and said " Miss, their wingspan is about two and a half metres....it will cast a shadow over the whole boat!!
Well, in yet again glorious weather we saw 8 in total......can't tell you how many pictures on continuous shooting I took to get about 10 fab ones in the end! Some are of them soaring high above but with their wings fully spread .....but getting 3 or 4 when they swooped down close was just amazing! Pity you cant see her face in this one ....but love the fact that I got this fish in ...and her fluffy feathers above those fatal claws !!! Look large to see them!
I then spent the evening horse riding along the beaches and little settlements on one of the Islands.....so stunning it made me want to weep...but didn't because I didn't want to startle my gorgeous Icelandic mare, Skimah.
Just a wonderful day that I will remember for a very long time....sat out on deck til 02.00am in the midnight sun knowing how lucky I am!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.