Piece of History

This is what is left of an old WWII Checkpoint at what was once an entrance to the town. It was maned by Home Guards and as far as I know never used in anger. Large

A few years back - 2005 a new estate was being built and a worker dug up some unexploded phosphorous hand grenades that explode into flames when exposed to air. (Well I think they do). This cache of grenades had been forgotten about after the war and ended up buried in a cow field.

It was all very exciting at the time, we were evacuated for hours, then they had a controlled explosion in an old skip which burned on for a long time.

A few weeks later I was stopped again on this road, I said to the Policeman 'Is it a bomb" and he must have been from Dundee cos he looked at me like I was stupid and waved me back the way I came. Tee Hee!

xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.