The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Lydiard Park

I hadn't actually set out to visit Lydiard Park, though it was somewhere I intended to check out at some point, but I had passed an entrance to it on my way to Swindon. On the right hand side of the driveway was a field full of mares, so having parked I went over to see them and get a few pictures. I had lunch in the Coach House, had a look round their Walled Gardens and then the House, before wandering down to the Lake.

There was a pair of swans gliding across the lake with a group of young cygnets in tow, and I enjoyed watching them for quite a while. I had a chat to someone mowing the lawns who had an interest in photography. He told me that the field with the horses was rented out to gypsies, and the horses were there until the summer each year, when they were sold. I later found that the field is called Mares' Field and is owned by developers who want to build on the field but are waiting out a lot of local opposition to the idea.

I took this blip during a second look at the horses shortly before returning to the car, just before hard rain set in for the rest of the afternoon.

L.
4.6.2014

Blip #1280
Consecutive Blip #142
Day #1519

Alternatives:
Gypsy Horse 1
Gypsy Horse 2
Gypsy Horse 3
African Poppy
Walled Garden
Swans On The Lake 1
Swans On The Lake 2
Gypsy Mares

Lydiard Park, 22 May 2014 (Flickr album)

Lenses: Pentax 17-70mm, Sigma 70-300mm

Lydiard Park (Wikipedia page)

Horses series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Be Bop Deluxe - Crying To The Sky (1976)
Crying To The Sky is from their third studio album, Sunburst Finish.

One year ago: Blipmeet #5 (with Clean Steve and Woodpeckers)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.