Mags' Moments

By MagsMoments

Snail Sunday!

It’s not every Sunday morning that a girl gets to spend in an olive oil factory, but this Sunday morning in an olive oil factory I spent! And I had to come through floods, hail, thunder and lightning to get there!

As it happens, it was all very interesting (once I finally made it) and the oil itself was absolutely delicious – and I now have four bottles of it in my kitchen to prove it!

The olive oil tour was by way of an introduction to a day of snail tasting (I kid you not) but garden molluscs stewed in their own sli… em, liquor… came in a very distant second to the oil as far as this girl’s taste buds were concerned. Smothered in garlic with a little white wine, olive oil and parsley - plus perhaps a quick squeeze of lemon! - I can just about swallow a caracol or two, but boiled in their own caldo, not quite so appetising… The shells were really pretty though!

(What that little fly thought of the snail-fest, I’ve no idea!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.