Marie Celeste

Also know as the Stagecoach 747 service to Edinburgh Airport. This deserted scene made me nervous.

I had planned on taking a train to connect with this airport shuttle, but Scotrail "cancelled" the train. It left Perth 15 minutes late, and for some reason Scotrail decided it would not stop at Kirkcaldy. A bit inconvenient if you have a plane to catch.

Fortunately I found out before I left the house (great things, the internet & iPhone apps) and as my son was there to drive me to the station (raining) he could take me to the park & ride to get the bus.

The bus driver did appear shortly after the scheduled departure time. Big relief.

easyJet also did well. The Munich plane left 20 minutes late (delayed in Paris) but arrived only 5 minutes late.

I had a front row seat in an empty row and the crew were friendly, so the flight was good.

Passport control was easy (an S7 flight from Moscow arrives about the same time and can cause chaos) and the Autobahn didn't cause any problems.

All this is a good argument for driving to the airport. I started using the 747 bus when easyJet's schedule involved me getting to the airport in the morning rush hour. It speeds along in the bus lane past miles of stationary/crawling traffic.

I suppose it's just a question of having a plan B if Scotrail or Stagecoach forget their public service obligations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.