such, such were the joys.

By Chaps100

A first.

Ok so not the most amazing of shots but I thought that this summed up my day more than anything. I rang 999 today. It was tense.

I was just walking home from school, nearly home, and there was a lady standing in the middle of the road crying. I was tempted to just carry on walking, listening to my music as is so often the case with many people today, but I knew that I'd feel far too guilty about it. So I stopped, and her husband had apparently passed out and hit his face on a table in the process. She was too hysterical for anything to make sense, but she told me to ring for an ambulance - so I did. Obviously I wasn't much help when it came to answering questions; I knew the name of the road and the postcode, but nothing really much about what had happened. Although I think I managed to give sufficient details. The wife was in a much more serious state than her husband.

Not the most exciting accident, but it was an event. And the first time I've ever called 999. Anyway, I hung around for a bit and gave my mobile number as the one that the ambulance service could call - so I'm thinking I probably made the right decision about stopping to help. I'm so glad that I did. I hate guilt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.