White wall

Ours is a red brick house, apart from this little bit of wall which is white. This is because originally there was a greenhouse right across this side of the house, and the wall was painted to reflect the light. Several transformations and extensions later, this is all there is to remind us of the greenhouse. Part of it was still in place when we arrived in 1967 but it was very leaky so it went.

Starting today we are having all the outside woodwork painted. It will be a long job because almost all the windows are wooden. We were talking about this to a very literal young friend, saying we were going to get the house painted. There was a long pause before he said ". . . . but I quite like it brick!" We should think more carefully how we phrase things in his presence!

Thank you for all your concerns at my aches and pains, and I'm sorry I off- loaded it onto you all, I was feeling sorry for myself. Pleased to say I don't ache so much today. It is only backache, nothing serious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.