Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Machen Welsh Longhouse Sunset

At mid-day, having deliberatley missed breakfast I attended a lunchtime retirement function at Morels Restaurant, Cross Keys College, where we had a great four course meal for £3. It was the first time in nearly 10 years that I'd been to such a function. I must be honest, the price was a great attraction, but it was nice to meet some former colleagues. I don't miss the job, but do miss the cut and thrust of continual banter and cutting sarcasm that we gave each other. After so many years, it's hard to reign yourself in when in the company of others.

On getting home mid afternoon, we went out and bought piles of bedding plants to replace the winter ones. We still need more - and that's my job tomorrow. In a few weeks the patio should be a bed of colour (hopefully) and could be a future blip photo!

I just didn't fancy bringing the camera out at the 'do'; so at 8.45pm I set off up the local mountain with a couple of cameras to source a sunset picture, hopefully with the village longhouse ruin. As it happened, the sunset wasn't too bad and my effort is an out of camera jpeg. It shows the longhouse with Caerphilly in the background. Taken at 9.38pm.

The forecast is a dramatic change of weather on the weekend with possible hailstones and thunderstorms due. We're off to Turkey this Monday, so it's possible we've chosen a good 10 days to go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.