Sailfish

By sailfish

Something missing?

Today I walked down to Gorgie Road for a trawl through the charity bookshops. On the way I walked a short way along Slateford Rd, just where the road goes over the railway.

The bridge over the railway has four plinths, each with these structures on. I take them to be lamp standards with the lamps missing. I think there is something similar on London Bridge, with the lamps intact. It's a shame these are missing the glass globes and lights - much nicer than the usual sodium street lights.

My trip to the bookshops was a success, I found a copy of Neville Shute's "Requiem for a Wren" for 50p. I've been wanting to read this book for years. I got close once when someone gave me a copy they'd found on a market stall, but they hadn't noticed the last 5 pages were missing. I checked this copy carefully and it seems to be intact . . .

At Clickychick's suggestion I had a look for an original photo and came up with this one from Edinburgh Photo, you can just see the lamp standard between the two buses on the right. Looks like the trams were causing just as much havoc then as they are now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.