misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Potting up in the Sunshine...

... on my new, well, re-purposed, outdoor potting table. This morning I started a new community pot. The soil was from a large plastic tub that had been on on the ground all winter. As I removed the soil to put it into the green ceramic pot I discovered a nest of ants that I was disturbing. I stopped using the soil and finished with new potting soil.
Now starring in this pot is a light blue pansy, a small cluster of forget-me-nots, and unseen underground are a few liatris "Blazing Star" bulbs. The reason for the pot in the first place is the small bunch of "Blue-eyed Grass" also known as the Grass of Parnassus. I discovered it hiding growing in the long border across the front of the house. It has just about finished blooming with a single simple blue flower at the tip of each thick blade of grass. Some tips have two balls or seed heads. That''s what I think they are. That could be how the plant traveled and appeared in a garden spot in my border. Birds make good seed carriers.

About the 'potting table'... it originally was a metal computer table. I spotted it at a charity thrift shop. I traded a clothes donation for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.