A Green View

Once every week or two, I try to visit Millbrook Marsh just to check out what's going on. It's a great place to watch the valley fill up with light in the mornings, and I always see birds there. Occasionally a deer or other creature, too. But mostly birds.

On this morning, I stopped briefly before work, and a red-winged blackbird served as my tour guide. It met me at the parking lot, accompanied me down the boardwalk, sat on top of the duck blind while I took pictures, followed me back up the boardwalk, and finally bid me farewell near the little bridge over Thompson Run.

The duck blind is a good place to stand and watch birds. This time of year, barn swallows are nesting in the rafters. And from the blind, you can get a good view of many other birds that visit the marsh.

As I stopped for a few minutes to watch the barn swallows in the nest, I turned and looked out the door of the duck blind, and found that the view wasn't too shabby! I've taken this photo many times over the years, in all of the seasons. It can be quite a golden view in winter, but it was a very green view on this day!

The song: Creedence Clearwater Revival, Lookin' Out My Back Door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.