Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Bundled Up

My children amuse me.

Click to enbundlenate.

Me, I started with a run and the gym. I realised something too: that I have been getting lazy. I have noticed my pace not getting any faster, and more lately, my short runs (5km or less; pretty much all I've done since my IT band went kerplunk) have been at the same pace I had been running at for 10 to 15 km. I had put that down wholly to the gap in training, but the last couple of nights I've watched some running videos: Haile Gebrselassie, Paul Tergat, Kenenisa Bekele, Mo Farah... Inspirational and instructive. During the men's 10k at the Atlanta Olympics, the (British) commentators spoke often about the British runner, John Brown ("the first European. In the race, as they mentioned repeatedly...); I noticed that compared to the Africans he looked like was walking in snow-shoes - he didn't lift his feet behind him half as a far as they all did. When I set out in the morning, I decided I was a bit snow-shoesy, and made an effort to switch that up; I realised that I was, and had been, maintaining much more easy breathing cadences in my runs, rather than maintaining the same effort (and,mine would hope, going quicker) - and I decided to push that.

So I ran harder, and picked up my heels, and shaved half a minute off my last few runs' average km pace.

I also went to the gym, and afterwards with mrs tsuken, stacked 4 cubic metres of firewood.

A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.