Boomtown China

By KevinIMitton

A very jumpy Tiananmen

Today, we're watching every move you make.

I made the foolhardy mistake of walking to work through Tiananmen Square. Had my passport check at two different security gates my bag of course X-rayed, security personnel everywhere uniformed and 'plain clothes'.

With a Nikon in hand I attracted the attention of a plain clothes security guy who followed me around the square then I was stopped and my passport scrutinised very closely for a third time. A soldier even marched up and stood beside me as the police officers entered all of my details into their handheld devices.

All-in-all it was pretty nervy visit.

Translation of (全) 世界人民大团结万岁 - Long live the revolution or Long live the great unity of the people of the world. Or something along those lines.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.