Old Photos

When I was a child, my parents took many photographs, so I do have a record of myself growing up. However, all the photographs were simply kept in a drawer. I remember the huge chest of drawers that stood at the top of the stairs in each house that we lived in and the bottom drawer was full of photographs; just there in a jumble.

Even when my mother moved to a smaller house, she still had the photographs in a big box, still jumbled up. Many, many times I asked if we could sort them out, perhaps put them in an album, but my mother was a very busy lady and it was always ‘sometime’. Well, ‘sometime’ never came and when she died, I took from the house the big box of photographs.

I have over the years done some sorting, as old photographs were needed for children’s projects etc. In fact it was my granddaughter the other day wanting pictures of seaside holidays ‘in the olden days’ that prompted me to decide that ‘sometime’ had really come.

So, I have spent a wet, windy day sorting childhood photographs. Fortunately my mother did date quite a few of the pictures, so with a bit of detective work, I have managed to sort a lot of them. Now I am faced with the huge task of scanning them – a mighty task indeed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.