Through Kat's Eyes

By kathartnett

Lacie's Tale

Yesterday, I took D1 and the two dogs to our camp. As I was lighting the fire a man came up on a 4wheeler. We were chatting and as he was about to leave he heard the cry of an injured animal. Earlier one of the animals had brought in a "part" of an animal. I though they must just be fighting over the animal. Well we ran over, across our little river to find both dogs. Skeet was munching on a deer carcass. While Lacie was trapped in a metal snare that was chocking the life out of her. My new friend told me to grab some wire cutters. Unfortunately they weren't strong enough to cut her out. My four-wheeler friend hopped on his bike for reinforcements while I sat with Lacie. He brought some other men from around and we managed to cut her loose with a hatchet and a hammer. Then we brought her into the camp to take the snare off of her neck. We managed to get it off of her and she is fine.
That trap was set less than 100 meters from our camp; closer to 50 meters. It is highly illegal to use deer as bait. There were at least 4 other snares we found. We have reported this crime. We almost lost our dog to this poacher.
Today's picture is of Lacie, because we are so lucky to have her. I am truly grateful for having help at that time as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.