Tarawera Times

By Megl

Tamarillo

My sister-in-law brought me a bag of tamarillos a friend had given her....it was like bringing a gift from heaven! They are a sub-tropical fruit that have a fairly short season, and are unique to New Zealand... I think??

They grow on a smallish shrubby tree and used to be called tree tomato but back in the 70's they name was changed to tamarillo to differentiate them from the normal tomato.

I love them is so many ways, I have already spooned the flesh out of the cut one and eaten it fresh and it is so sweet. They can be cooked, especially with a few apples and make a great pie filling. I also use them to make a pickle, with apples, onions, raisins, ginger and spices. It is soooo good and great served with venison. They are also great peeled and sliced onto toast with salt and pepper.
I think I am starting to sound like a food encyclopaedia!

I only blipped yesterdays photo this morning, we went to a birthday party dressed as rockstars....decided not to blip that photo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.