Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

PROBLEM BEETLE

I am continually amazed by the diversity of invertebrate life in the garden. I don't often get a chance to photograph or identify, but this one had the misfortune of climbing into a plastic bucket. I popped it into my bug identifying chamber for a moment while I dashed in for my camera. I've tentatively identified it as a Carabus Problematicus , one of the violet ground beetles, but would be grateful for further enlightenment. The elytra was violet round the edges and bronze for the main part, but one site suggested this is a common variation. Anyway, I quickly released it to scurry off and do its important business of eating slugs. I took one terrifying close up of its jaws and I'm telling you, if I was a slug and saw that coming I would know my days were numbered.

Early blip today, as I am off to Inverurie to see Fido and her four lovely lads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.