Redwing

I've seen so many redwings in London this year and I'm sure it's not normal. I think perhaps the cold weather has brought them south. It's lovely to see them hanging around with the blackbirds, sparrows and wood pigeons. I snapped this one in Brockwell Park huddling around some crows.

The snow is melting and is now at the slushy stage. My snowman is a third of the size he was yesterday and now looks slightly sinister. The ice seems to be gone, which is a great relief as it was treacherous underfoot.

The kettle's not working. We've had it for less than a year (but I CANNOT find the receipt). I'm very cross. Why doesn't anything last for any time any more?

Fred bought us some tickets for the afternoon showing of Avatar 3D at the local cinema, where the average age of the attendees was 12. We almost didn't go because the prepaid tickets couldn't be printed because of a technical fault. That, compounded with Fred's hard-drive failing yesterday and the kettle not boiling this morning, almost made us blow our fuses. We looked at each other in despair and banged our heads against the wall until a supervisor calmed us down, printed out our tickets and sat us behind a five year old, who ate sweets the whole way through the film, but was very well behaved.

I was as blown away by Avater as I was the first time - the 3D is amazing and the message is poignant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.