Amazing Maisie

My poor Dolly didn't make it. I collected her from the emergency vets and brought her home this morning for a short while. I put her kittens in her basket, but she couldn't really be bothered with them. I then had to take her to my vets. My vet looked a little closer and could see that Dolly had been attacked by a wild animal. She had peritonitis, perforated gallbladder and a few other bits. Her back legs wouldn't work because of nerve damage. The kindest thing was to put her to sleep...and yes I'm very upset about it.

But my Maisie has put a smile back on my face. She has adopted the kittens as if they were her own. It's quite amazing to watch her look after them. She cleans them and feeds them. She is producing milk. The vet said it was fine and to let her carry on.

I'm giving them small amounts of something the vet gave me as well just go make sure they are getting what they need. Plus I'm feeding them with a bottle. Thank goodness she only had three.

I've collected Dolly. They put her to sleep while she was still anaesthetised. I wish I had been with her when they injected her...I let her down there. But she is home and will be put next to Max my little schnauzer....he will look after her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.