Speckled wood

It turned out to be a rather strange sort of day. The electrician came to replace our circuit board, which meant that the electricity was turned off virtually all day. Alex and Ben were quite lost without access to their computers and I wasn't much better.

I had been planning to do some gardening, but the morning started with a thunderstorm and then we had steady rain, so that idea went out of the window. I quizzed Ben on some biology and eventually had to resort to tidying and sorting!! The worst thing was no cups of tea!! In the middle of the afternoon the sun finally appeared and I spent a bit of time in the garden, doing some perfunctory weeding and photographing insects, though I just couldn't seem to get anything in focus. I think I was tired after three days of fieldwork.

Later the boys all went round to a friend's house to do 'manly' things (supposedly painting and woodwork) but ended up cooking a roast dinner, baking a cake and making cocktails!!This meant Pete and I had the luxury of cooking for two - we had a simple meal of fish with a lemon and herb sauce followed by The Collective's raspberry yoghurt - yummy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.