No Static

By nostatic

In two parts

If 1989 and 1990 were the years when my music tastes started to realise there was life beyond those artists featured on Live and Kicking, then 1991 was when I became fully immersed in all things alternative. When music started to become an obsession rather than an interest and when music started to inform dress codes and political allegiances. A quick glance at theNME albums of the year for 1991 shows the quality that year had to offer, with a very obvious number one from Nirvana. If you look down the list (and squint to avoid some dodgy ones, hello Milltown Brothers) there are albums scattered throughout it that are still considered classics two decades down the line.

Given the prominence of Bandwagonesque on the list and the big part Teenage Fanclub played during my school days I really should pick a track from that as my favourite from 1991, but there's one album on here that for years I would have as my go to album when asked what the best album of all time was. Last time I listened it felt a bit jaded (maybe it's the patchy quality of later releases Xtrmntr and Vanishing Point aside), but for years Screamadelica did it for me every time. And eschewing the obvious I've opted for the low rumbling bass lines of Higher than the Sun (a dub symphony in two parts).

1991 was also the year I first started going to gigs, mostly in Glasgow heading through on either the virgin bus or the ripping records bus. Starting with Inspiral Carpets at the SECC and culminating with one of my all time favourite gigs of all time with Teenage Fanclub and My Bloody Valentine headlining at Barrowlands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.