LightWave

By LightWave

The Invisible Woman

I went down to the little pond again this morning, to see if the warblers were feeding down by the water. And they were! So I sat down, close to the fallen tree branch that you see in the picture, and waited until the birds got used to me being there. It didn't take long. I was amazed by how close I could get - they were so focussed on feeding that they ignored me completely. I suppose every photographer has, at some time or other, wished that they were invisible. Well it was just like that. Little birds (palm warblers and yellow-rumped warblers) were foraging in the undergrowth right next to my feet. I could have reached down and picked one up! It was truly magical.

But the real stars of the show were the redstarts, which is why I have chosen one for my blip. Dozens of them, flickering across the little pond like swallows, then coming to rest on any stick, reed or branch available. The reeds would bend under their weight and float the bird on the surface of the pond as if it could walk on water. Female redstarts, grey and yellow versions of the males, spread their tails and displayed provocatively. Wilson's, bay-sided and blackpoll warblers mixed in with the crowd. It was a blast.

Two days ago I knew nothing about warblers. Now I am smitten. I've also learned an awful lot. So far, on our little pond, I've seen eleven species: redstart, yellow-rumped, Cape May, palm, magnolia, blackpoll, yellow, Wilson's, chestnut-sided, bay-breasted and northern parula. Beautiful birds, all. And there was something about the little pond that they liked - the big pond, only yards away, was a warbler-free zone.

Polk County, Wisconsin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.