Growing Cygnets

A much better morning for my walk. Lots of visitors coming to Trentham Gardens including the human kind! But I'm more inclined to photograph the wildlife.

I spotted a couple of new insects for me this year - a hover fly that looks like a bee (Volucella bombylans) and a male Banded Demoiselle
(Calopteryx splendens). Shame my photos of them weren't too sharp.

These cygnets are really at their teenage years, and beginning to look more swan like now. But they still have that lovely fluffy plumage. It looks a bit soggy here as they were feeding at the edge of the lake. They're not relying on their parents to reach down into the water for their food anymore.

I almost blipped a group of actors rehearsing for their production of Macbeth which will be performed outdoors at Trentham later this month. Must go and book tickets.

Please count some bees today: The Great British Bee Count. I've done my bit by spending some time in my garden with a pen and paper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.