My sweet girl

This should have been a lovely day and in many ways, it was because  MYBIATW Jean came for the day.  

I can hardly bear to write it, but Karen wrote an email this morning with the hardest of news to say that my darling Connie-Dog passed away earlier today.  It is breaking my heart that I wasn't there.   I know I left her in loving hands while coming home to the UK to be with my Dad, but after sixteen years of her loving companionship, I oh-so wish that I had been with her. My poor little sweet.

I didn't tell Dad - and  Jean and I took him for a pub lunch at The Fox and Raven (here) - where I tried a new ale called Doom Bar (Sharp's Brewery) which I really liked. I may become an addict whilst here. Jean's company gave me solace and smiles.

After lunch and leaving Dad settled at home, we went to collect my new camera (very exciting - more later) and a sprint to Asda to buy a few foodstuffs to make an easy evening meal for three, all the while talking about Dad and what the options are. Out of hospital for several days, he can hardly walk, and other symptoms too painful to write here. During the evening Jean finally achieved something I was unable to do, which was to persuade him to make a doctor's appointment for the morning and put me on to his car insurance so that I can drive him there.  There is so much to think about, but at the moment, only Connie fills my head.  I can't believe she's gone. My poor little sweet.

Connie -Connie -  Connie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.