A Date with Yourself

I (Annie) am having a slightly unusual week this week. I'm working down in Bristol for four days, and instead of the usual 200 mile round trip commute, or boring travel hotel, I'm instead staying for the week at Center Parcs, Longleat. It's all in the spirit of "making a date with yourself" - you sometimes need to make the most of moments you have, rather than just sit and wait for exciting things to happen. Go exploring to turn a commute into an adventure, or pick a fun place to stay to make a boring or stressful week of work that bit more fun. It's obviously not economic to do it often, but it is certainly more exciting this week than average!

While yesterday I spent the evening bobbing round the water rapids and slides in the tropical swimming pool, this evening I chose a gentler activity of a massage and facial. Walking back to the cabin past the lake, I stopped to admire just how peaceful it is here amongst the trees. Instantly relaxing - I love being in trees. Of course, during the day, while the kayaks, rafts, sailboats and zip wire are active, it's a lot less peaceful!

Back to the cabin tonight for a glass of wine, giving food to the local ducks at my back door and then watching a DVD. Bliss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.