Treegonk

By treegonk

Sandeels

I hate eels.

I caught one when I was ten, when I was fishing for trout. My dad wasn't around to tell me what to do with it and I had to try and get the slippery slimy thing off my line. It wriggled around in the grass in a writhing tangle of slime. As I tried to grab it to get it off my line, it wrapped itself around my little arm and wouldn't let go and I had nightmares about eels ever since. I suppose it got me back for catching it..

I'm not so scared of these little ones. They are sandeels & they are fairly well pickled and wrapped in shrinkwrap. They are hopefully going to help me catch some nicer fish like sea trout and bass on a beach in the north.

If I ever catch a conger eel, I think the whole rod and line will be in the water before it gets anywhere near me and I will be in the pub before the tide turns.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.