LightWave

By LightWave

The Greens of Summer

Many, many dragonflies circling at the moment, which is great because they eat the mosquitoes. This large green beauty was the most obliging subject that I found on my walk today. Unusually, it held its wings closed like a damselfly - perhaps it was newly emerged and not yet accustomed to the aerial life. I know next to nothing about dragonflies, so this is pure speculation. I also found a nice leopard frog but it was quite small and I hadn't brought the macro lens so I'll have to try for him another day.

Hit some balls on the driving range before lunch. Beautiful clouds of the type I call "Wisconsin clouds" - puffy and wispy and somewhat layered. I'm pretty ambivalent about golf (I used to be positively phobic) but it's available and it's free (for me) so I'd be crazy not to partake. Wouldn't I?

Sound of the day: goldfinches at the feeder over dinner (ours and theirs) - they sound like squeaky toys and are surprisingly loud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.