Registry

I haven't worked in the Registry building since February 2011.

For a long time the fate of the building was undecided as tests and assessments were undertaken. I'll be moving back in sometime in August. The good news is it's been strengthened to 100% of the current building code :-) That's good as I'll be working on the 3rd floor (that's counting the American way, with first floor same as what we usually call ground floor).

This is an early example of campus architecture in the style I fondly refer to as 'Stalinist Architecture'. During the 1960s there were many student protests. The Registry building reflects the time with a fortress like appearance.

Behind it, across University Drive and over the Avon River is the old Student Union building(s). The separation reflects a time when students were separate and across the road and river, while the Vice Chancellor sat in his fortress like building. If need be those pesky students could be contained ;-)

These days the students are integrated into the centre of campus, a happy outcome of the earthquakes.

Can I just add it was cold around my ears when I took this photo (not to mention bleak and drizzly). Note to self, wear hat and gloves along with the scarf.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.