MACRO LESSON I

Blipping today included learning to use my new camera with the macro lens. It’s definitely a challenge to remember what all the dials and settings mean, but I hope to stick to it until it all sinks in. For good macro subjects, I was lucky to find some interesting bugs on flowers. This Assassin bug is about three-fourths inch long and is sitting on a petunia petal.

I spent a few days with my daughter – the camera used to be hers, so she was an excellent source to help me learn which buttons do what functions. She was very patient explaining what aperture, shutter speed and ISO have to do with lighting and focusing, etc. It all seemed clear at the time, but I can see it’s going to be a long learning curve until it becomes second-nature to me.

We packed a lot into the three days I was there, including kayaking around the lakes. The flip side of that fun experience was a big dunk in the lake when the kayak slipped out from under me when I tried to get in the first time! Ugh!! Guess I have a lot to learn about a lot of things!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.