The Project

I reckon Ive tried just about every craft there is during my lifetime. There was decoupage, doll-making, sewing, crochet, weaving, card-making, china painting and a whole lot more. I never did paint or draw - oh, but I did do folk art.

But the one enduring craft that has tied my life together is knitting. My grandmother taught me when I was 7 or 8 years old I guess, and I've never really put the needles down. I have a yarn stash the size of Uluru, and I've vowed to try and knit my way through it. The chances are really slim, but I'm giving it a go.

This is a jumper knitted out of 2 ply and 3 ply yarns, resulting in a rather nice tweedy look. It's nearly finished - just half a sleeve to go, and already I'm looking for patterns for the next one.

Most of my yarn is really fine, but I've found that by knitting two or more threads together I can get pretty much whatever weight I want.

The weather is very flat and grey today, so it's a knitting macro or the kitchen drawer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.