Scintilla

By scintilla

100th Blip Reminiscence

One hundred blips is not necessarily much of an accomplishment, but it seems to be well acknowledged in the blip community as a valid milestone. I count 25 blippers who bothered to tag their 100th blip with "100". The website camera icon comment thingy changes color at 100. Many if not most of the 100th blips show the ante raised as far creativity and/or brut labor, So it's hard to pass 100 without some kind of celebratory nod.

As with any milestone, retrospective thoughts are inspired. When I joined Blipfoto at Chaos' urging, I thought it would be a good way to get more familiar with my camera and the digital photographic process. Rightly so, Chaos figured we would be more likely to participate on a daily level if we had someone locally participating with us. I did not expect to end up getting hooked on all the goings on about the Blipfoto community. It is unique in that the impetus to post daily exposes you to your blip com-padres on your not so good as well as your good days. This is a facet that I found intoxicating and made the images that much more interesting to me. I think it would be exceedingly hard to post for 100 contiguous days and not end up feeling like you're a part of something.

Another unexpected result is the new avenue of photography as a means for me and my daughter to connect with each other. She has her music and her art which I immensely enjoy as a parent and audience member, but the photography has become something we're relishing side by side.

I sucked in my brother as well whose strong foundation in photography has remained fallow for many years until now. He genuinely thanked me for showing him a way to reinvigorate his love of creating a meaningful photograph. You have to relish the times you get a sibling to thank you.

I did not anticipate how quickly other's triumphs would lift my day, and other's misfortune would take a toll on me as well. My Blipfoto first 100 days has not necessarily been a life altering experience, but it certainly is a life affirming experience. In a nutshell, I didn't originally think my friends in the blip world would mean as much to me as it turns out they do.

In celebration of 100 days, and with the realization that it's not what I've submitted, but what's gone on around me, I'm linking to a sampling of some of the blips that connected to me in some way. Either the image inspired me, or the story/situation had meaning for me, or both. How I named them may or may not have any bearing on the original contributor's title.

Edit: Given these are words I would ditto for Blips birthday celebration, this will also be one of if not my only contribution to assignment 4.


colorful bargain
ex running man
Stella and cigs
flying fox
bonfire heat
barley sunset
Birth
amazing fangs
bubble bath
brotherly love
tooth fairy booty
golden fields
scattering spiders
tank skeleton
desperation rainbow
final approach
self doubt
good friend lazy blipper
injury
flash experiment
smokeflake
ubiquitous taxi
stalker
Bella's bugaboo
poem
fighting step dad
new dawn
hassocks
horsey lips
psychedelic turtle
missing blipper
too young to be old
sudden stroke
dreadful scare
diverging lines
Orkney yole
interspecies snorgling
lone beach umbrella
Margot's birthday
construction progress
on the dole
seductive stairs
tribute
photo trophy
alphabet
diggie view
graduate
ending vacation blues
another missing blipper
crosseyes
night driving
filial imprinting
fountain encounter
high flyer
a fine eulogy
travel fun
new blipper
pooped pooch
single highland malt scotch
vacation gone bad
mood manequin
beautiful friend
Banksy stencil
ttv
birthday hat
pram covers
reluctant self portrait
bee parts
conference fun
balancing act
shower curtain
sweet sugar cane
Stax records
donkey lips
white dunes
death

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.