More than...

...a petunia in a petunia patch.

Three years ago to the calendar day I spent my last night as a tenant at the address where this petunia was blooming at its side gate today.

My then new friend P spent the night as my guest in the house. P had turned up fairly late in the night and said she hoped I didn't mind, could she drop some things off out of her ute (she was as I did know the buyer). On reflection I said I didn't mind. As long as she didn't mind that as I had permission from my new landlord to leave boxes on the verandah of my new rental around the corner, I was in process of walking around the corner (and again etc) carrying boxes.

P and I spent several hours then going backwards and forwards to our respective old and new addresses carrying items in and out- and I asked as we coincided did she have to go to work the next day she might as well stay.

Yes she did have to go to work-a short distance away- and would she stay and did I like a Baileys. Yes, I would enjoy a Baileys for the occasion. OK, P would go and get the Baileys and her toothbrush etc and towel and bedding. I would light a fire and make a party space for us to have our Baileys after a shower and a bath. If she like a bath here? Yes. I would sleep on my couch. Would it be alright btw if I left the couch and arranged its removal later? Yes as P couldn't shift her own couch in immediately whereas I had one supplied where I was moving. And a bed whereas my single bed was such a success on P's overnight first stay she bought the bed as a spare. Things had gone tickety boo and continued as that took two more loads including some wood chopping by torchlight out of a pile P had previously arranged I take receipt of on her behalf as she had won a trailer load very recently.

It was 3 am we sat scrubbed up in front of the glow of the fireplace in our pjs and drank Baileys.

The following day we were both up bright and early. P went to work and later would sign the papers at the office of the real estate agency. What time would that be? Not until the afternoon. Tricky, I said, feeling nervous about the potential for confrontation, the agents are coming here late morning to do their final inspection. I bet they balk at the legalities. Mm. P asks what could go wrong. 2 hours between my going and their signing me off and P signing the papers was time enough for something to go wrong. I've been a tenant for many years. P suggests would it cover it if she pay a day's rent maybe. No matter I say. P, you are my guest (I'm having fun). I would pay it if that was an issue. That won't happen. I'll sort it.

Of course who would believe it that the agents assigned to final inspection do balk later that morning that one room is set up as the new owner-to-be's bedroom complete with hair brush and personal cosmetics and another filled with boxes. Why is this house rental not empty- you can't do this it's not regular.

It's supposed to be empty so I can check off everything's alright one of the two young women plaintively insisted tried to insist.

In less than two hours I say in effect, it's not the least concern to you whether everything's alright. Meanwhile the property is in 300% better condition than when I moved in. And you're worried everything's alright? That's honestly laughable. I'm around the corner if you find any reason to chase me down. Siggghhh.

It was incredibly good fun. I stayed nervous until I was signed off and handed my keys over.

P suddenly today was reminded to ask 'What's the date?' I'd called in to tell her something (taking a shot of the petunia on the way) and we had gone out sharing an adventure. She had to pick up some old crockery she was given to make a mosaic path. I was buying a sewing machine. We were crossing a town street - talking.

'It's today, in fact' I said recognising a hark to our having an anniversary.

We shared a hug then. I was carrying the sewing machine in a box and had to put it briefly down on the bitumen road. Everybody ought to have a really silly anniversary about something that is equally so sensible and non-officious ... forever sweet-funny or eccentric, the whole episode and meaningful if only you were a fly on the wall. Meanwhile what was left of my belongings had sat outside in boxes for the day too heavy for me to easily carry. The new landlord I had met to that point in time once called past after he finished work with his trailer and helped me load and move them as he had offered. That seemed eccentric. I will always remember as well he was concerned I take care of my back I had previously injured.

Three years:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.