Bowness-on-Windermere

Today's the day ............................... to be a tourist

It's a common thing that if you live in a place which is thought by the rest of the country to be a tourist attraction - you never go to the parts that the tourists love.

I can't tell you the last time that I walked along the front at Bowness where all the boats for hire on Lake Windermere are. It's a long time (if ever) that I watched the cruiser Teal come in alongside the pier to pick passengers up for a cruise on the lake. But that's what I did today when I was in Bowness for another reason.

It was nice - but it was very busy considering that we are midweek and right at the start of the holiday season. And having lived in the Lake District for a while now, I know that there are so many other places where the tourists won't be.

So I think that's my tourist bit over for another few years .......................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.