WanderScot

By wanderscot

Braving the roads down south

I thought that possible blips would be hard to come by on the road but happily decorated ex-ashtray/bin at a service station was a delight.

So, I braved the roads and headed south today. After such as wonderfully relaxing festive holiday at home I reluctantly hopped in the car to make the journey from Glasgow to Lincoln. I wasn't 30 miles south before I was nearly embroiled in a road rage incident. After stopping for a top up of diet coke and doritos (I considered that it was still technically my christmas holiday and so E-numbers are still allowed) I drove back onto the slip road and an estate drove at a great pace up my bahookie. When I could no longer see headlights due to the proximity of the estate I slowed and tapped the brakes. No joy of silent understanding between adult drivers on the road. I was flashed, then over taken, then she slammed on the breaks in front of me. I slowed down even further thinking, of all the seasons to be playing life sized dodgems, slush season was probably the least clever. Then, remarkably, she stopped completely. Now 50 yards in front I slowed down further. Then she reversed! I can only imaging what creative colourful language she was yelling and what dastardly thoughts flew threw her head when she reversed. Thankfully she quickly thought better of it and drove away to harass someone else. Blimey, only 230 miles to go! Made it safe and sound though and drove past the boat that I lived on over the summer. I was very happy to drive straight on past as I saw it hugged tightly by the frozen canal on to my flat with cosy central heating. Happiness is a warm bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.