Serve & volley

Some folk like to serve and volley. I prefer to serve, my opponent to miss, and then me not have to volley.

Of course you may be thinking I'm good enough to serve and volley. Thankyou. Sadly I'm not. Serving is hard enough. The thought of then of running to the net to have your opponent hammer the ball back at you is not an enticing one.

On a recent trip to the Canaries a kindly German hit such a ball at an unsuspecting yours truly who took the ball full on my bottom lip. I took the blow manfully and will always remember those kind hearted hairy French ladies who just happened to be passing for carrying me off and stealing my wallet. It was worth it to have Marie (as I've since named her) keep leaning into close to me to ask if I was still alive. 'Only just mon cherie,' I whispered whilst peaking through my pretend shut eyes to her giving charms. 'Giving Charms' has also since become the name of my 20 year old Raleigh Bicycle which, when a hill arrives, I just have to think back to my fat bottom lip and energy arrives from somewhere deep within....

Tennis is a sport played by folk who believe a game to love is the best type of game. I am such a man.

Peace, love and new balls please

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.