People Watching

Sunday was a long day with a drive to Brighton that took over 6 hours due to an incident on the motorway. I used to love long distant driving but there's twice as much traffic now and the concept of leaving a 2 second gap between you and the car in front has all but gone. Now it just gives me a headache.

I'd solve it in one fell swoop if I was in charge (when I'm in charge). I'd simply take licences off of tailgaters. Less traffic, less hassle, less accidents.

Sorry but it's a real bugbear of mine. If you leave a gap then you can see further ahead. I'm not bothered about moderate speeding. I don't tend to do it myself, not because I'm holier than thou, I just don't want points on my licence, but I just wish that camera's would spot tailgaters and do something about it.

Anyway, rant over...

The drive down to Brighton on Sunday was ahead of my Dad's wife funeral on Monday.

We got there late afternoon and checked in to a hotel before having a wander along Brighton seafront. This is another place that's twice as busy as when I used to live here 20 years ago. But it's a good busy, buzzing and bustling and full of fun.

After our wander we met up with Dad and my brothers, Mark and Dave, plus friends from Spain,Victor and Maria and had a good meal and a few drinks in a tapas bar.

I couldn't stay out late - I was shattered - but it was a good get together and it's an old cliché but it's very sad that it often takes things like funerals to bring people together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.