Progress

Work continued apace today with the palm pruning on the paseo. In France or the UK, this area would have been fenced off to save pedestrians from the indignity (or serious injury) of being struck by dead palm leaves (which are sharp and heavy). But in Spain you just have to run the gauntlet. The scalped trees can be seen in the background, and in the nearest, if you look closely, you will see the pruner among the branches.

Tomorrow I return to 1965 for the last time, before reaching the denouement of my story in 2015 sometime next week. Then developments unfolded at close of play. I have to fly home for four days, the week after next, to do an interview for Le Monde who want to carry a full-page feature. Flights were hurriedly booked, and car hire arranged. Just when I thought I was going to have a few days of peace and quiet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.