Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Square Sausage and the Scottish Breakfast

We had guests in our Edinburgh Cottage for Christmas. One day we went to see them as we were having some minor maintenance to our TV done, and I wanted to be there with the technician. The guests had been out to the local store to buy provisions for breakfast and were taking great delight in sampling the traditional Scottish Breakfast. They'd bought a pack like the one I'm holding here - I had to seek it out in our local supermarket afterwards to take a closer look. We had to explain about black pudding, fruit pudding, Lorne Sausage and links as these seemed to be a mystery to our guests. When they greeted my son with 'Failte' I had to explain that he didn't have any Gaelic. I didn't explain that he'd never eaten a Scottish Breakfast either. How can I ever make it as a Scottish Mother?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.